CSCRO6 honors HAP awardees, semi-finalists

Director IV Rodolfo B. Encajonado together with Director III Raymund F. Gonzales give the certificate of recognition to members of the Dumalag RHU. The team was declared as one of the 2011 CSC Pagasa Awardees for the group category.

2011 Dangal ng Bayan Awardee Jelyn D. Duting, Postman II, Philippine Postal Corporation-Banate Post Office, receive her certificate during the HAP recognition rites in SM City Iloilo.

ILOILO CITY– Government officials and employees in region 6 gathered together to give honor to this year’s awardees and semi-finalists in the Honor Awards Program, an annual search for outstanding public servants spearheaded by the Civil Service Commission.

The following are the 2011 HAP semi-finalists from region 6:

I. CSC Pagasa Award:

1. Hon. Christine S. Garin, Municipal Mayor, LGU-Guimbal, Iloilo

2. Hon. Jose Neil P. Olivares, Vice Mayor, LGU-Oton, Iloilo

3. Dumalag Rural Health Unit, Dumalag, Capiz

 II. Dangal ng Bayan Award:

1. Mr. Broderick G. Train, Project Development Officer II, Provincial Planning

               Development Office, Provincial Government of Antique

2. Ms. Jelyn D. Duting, Postman II, Philippine Postal Corporation-Banate Post


III. Presidential or Lingkod Bayan Award:

1. Hon. Ma. Teresa F. Debuque, Municipal Mayor, LGU-Anilao, Iloilo

2. Solid Waste Management Office, San Carlos City Government, Negros


Postman II Jelyn D. Duting of the Philippine Postal Corporation, Banate Post Office, was named as one of the 10 national awardees for the Dangal ng Bayan category.

The Dangal ng Bayan Award is conferred on an individual for his or her consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior based on the eight norms of conduct under RA 6713 or the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards of Public Officials and Employees.

Duting said that the award she received is the Lord’s answer to her prayers and it was the product of her hard work and sacrifice.

For only two years of service in the town of Banate as Acting Postmaster, Duting performed multiple roles- Postmaster and Letter Carrier, which generated savings for their office. On her own initiative, she devised strategies to minimize the backlog of mails such as seeking the assistance of barangay officials and personally hiring a pedicab just to hand out ‘time sensitive mails’ to her constituents.

Duting also convinced the local officials of Banate to allocate a portion of the wall of their municipal hall to display exhibits of postal products and services to foster awareness to the public. The greatest challenge she hurdled was that when she was hospitalized for severe illness, she continued to entertain clients and issued postal IDs in her hospital bed.

The Dumalag Rural Health Unit of the municipality of Dumalag, Capiz was declared as one of the CSC Pagasa Awardees for the group category.

The Pagasa Award is conferred on an individual or group for outstanding contributions resulting from an idea or performance that directly benefited more than one department of the government.

The Dumalag RHU was instrumental in strengthening LGU support and increasing Philhealth enrolment in the indigency/sponsored program of the LGU despite the lack of budget. The group also led a massive campaign for women to give birth at the RHU, conducted weekly inventory of home deliveries, and spearheaded year-end merits/award system to barangays with the highest number of RHU deliveries.

The CSCRO6 is still waiting for the official result of the Presidential or Lingkod Bayan category.

National winners for the 2011 HAP will be conferred their respective awards this September. The exact date, time, and venue will be announced later by the Commission.


Public Assistance and Liaison Division

Civil Service Commission Regional Office 6

September 14, 2011

This entry was posted in In the News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.