Holidays for 2010

President Arroyo issued Proclamation No. 1841 declaring the regular holidays, special (non-working) days and special holidays (for all schools) for the 2010.

A Malacañang statement said Proclamation 1841 signed last July 21 is in line with Republic Act 9492, which provides that non-religious holidays be moved to the nearest Monday.

Under Proclamation 1841, the following regular holidays and special days for the year 2010 shall be observed in the country:

* Regular Holidays

January 1 – New Year’s Day
April 1 – Maundy Thursday
April 2 – Good Friday
April 9 – Araw ng Kagitingan
May 1 – Labor Day
June 14 (Monday nearest June 12) – Independence Day
August 30 (Last Monday of August) – National Heroes Day
November 29 (Monday nearest November 30) – Bonifacio Day
December 25 (Saturday) – Christmas Day
December 27 (Monday nearest December 30) – Rizal Day

* Special (Non-Working) Days

August 23 (Monday nearest August 21) – Ninoy Aquino Day
November 1 (Monday) – All Saints’ Day

* Additional Special (Non-Working) Day

December 24 (Friday)
December 31 (Friday) – Last Day of the Year

* Special Holiday (for all schools)

February 22 (Monday nearest February 25) – EDSA Revolution Anniversary

R.A. 9492 also provides that the Eid’l Adha shall be celebrated as a regional holiday in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, the Palace said.
On the other hand, the proclamation declaring a national holiday for the observance of Eid’l Fitr shall be issued after the approximate date of the Islamic holiday has been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar (Hijra) or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient.

This entry was posted in In the News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.