CSC asks gov’t agencies to submit list of anti-red tape programs

The Civil Service Commission (CSC) has directed all government agencies and instrumentalities to submit their proposed anti-red tape programs and projects with corresponding budget estimates to the Anti-Red Tape Task Force on or before June 16, 2009.

CSC Chair Ricardo L. Saludo said that the 2009 General Appropriations Act allows agencies to utilize one-half of one percent (1/2 of 1%) of their Maintenance and Other Operating Expenses (MOOE) for programs and projects to implement the provisions of Republic Act No. 9485 or the Anti-Red Tape Act (ARTA) of 2007.

Under the ARTA, government offices, including local government units and government owned and controlled corporations, must review and streamline their frontline service procedures, draw up and implement a Citizen’s Charter, set up a Public Assistance and Complaints Desk with hotline facility, eradicate fixers, and undertake other measures to address inefficiencies in the delivery of government services.

According to Saludo, agencies can also use the ARTA fund from the MOOE to conduct a tri-media campaign on ARTA, organize capability building sessions for frontline employees, print and disseminate ARTA information materials, set up technology-based support systems to speedily address client needs, establish regular dialogues with stakeholders or other customer feedback program, and conduct seminar-workshops on the adoption/use of a Performance Management System.

Agencies may submit the amount of their MOOE with the list of proposed anti-red tape programs and projects, including budget estimates, to the Office of Atty. Anicia Marasigan-De Lima, CSC Assistant Commissioner for Regional Operations and Head of the Anti-Red Tape Task Force, through e-mail at, fax at (02) 781-4097 or at No. 25 Kaliraya Street, Quezon City.

Last May 27, the Commission released the names of more than 250 agencies nationwide that have completed their Citizen’s Charters, installed public help desks, and began to crack down on fixers. At the same time, it reminded other government offices that they only have until September to comply with the provisions of ARTA.

The CSC also cited provinces and cities that have been considered as exemplars in frontline service delivery. The model provinces are La Union, Cavite, Camarines Sur, Bohol, Northern Samar, Bukidnon, Cotabato, Agusan del Sur and Maguindanao. The model cities are Candon in Ilocos Sur, Santiago City in Isabela, San Fernando City in Pampanga, Tanauan in Batangas, Legazpi and Tabaco Cities in Albay, Toledo in Cebu as well as Baybay in Leyte, Zamboanga City, Iligan City, Tacurong City and Butuan City.

The list of government agencies that have complied with the ARTA can be accessed from the CSC website at The public may call or text CSC at (02) 932-0111 and 0917-8398272 if agencies have been erroneously included in said list.

Posted: June 3, 2009


This entry was posted in In the News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.