Red tape-free government through the Anti-Red Tape Act

Government offices move a step closer to being red tape-free as over 250 agencies have completed their Citizen’s Charters, set up Help Desks and launched anti-fixer measures in compliance with Republic Act No. 9485 or the Anti-Red Tape Act (ARTA) of 2007. This was reported yesterday by the Civil Service Commission (CSC) as it also reminded other public offices that they have only four months left or until September this year to comply with ARTA.

CSC Chair Ricardo L. Saludo pointed out that over half or 60% of the offices which complied with ARTA were local government units from various parts of the country. The Commission also disclosed that model provinces and cities have been identified in each of the regions to showcase best practices in frontline service delivery. These provinces are La Union, Cavite, Camarines Sur, Bohol, Northern Samar, Bukidnon, Cotabato, Agusan del Sur and Maguindanao. The model cities are Candon in Ilocos Sur, Santiago City in Isabela, San Fernando City in Pampanga, Tanauan in Batangas, Legazpi and Tabaco Cities in Albay, Toledo in Cebu as well as Baybay in Leyte, Zamboanga City, Iligan City, Tacurong City and Butuan City.

Posted: May 27, 2009 (

This entry was posted in In the News. Bookmark the permalink.